1st XI Stats 2014 - 15

Premier League click here

Irish Hockey League Finals Gallery

Women’s Irish Hockey League Final
Pegasus 1 (S Ferris) Loreto 1 (A Meeke); Pegasus win 4-2 on a shoot-out
Pegasus snatched their second Irish Hockey League title from Loreto’s grasp as their cool heads in the shoot-out and defensive resilience saw them win out at Grange Road.

Had it been decided on points, Loreto would have won at a canter but their inability to make chances stick cost them dearly in a tie they bossed for long periods.

Natalie Pinkerton and Hannah Grieve were superb in defence while goalkeeper of the tournament Ayeisha McFerran was unbeatable between the posts. Steph Thompson was a dynamo in midfield while Alex Speers showed her experience – having won the title previously once with Pegasus and twice with Railway Union, – down the final stretch.

It meant the good approach work of Nicci Daly and Hayley Mulcahy went without reward for the most part. An early penalty corner was upgraded to a stroke for a deliberate back-stick but defensive lynch-pin, so often Loreto’s key player, Hannah Matthews saw her shot tipped onto the post by McFerran.

Matthews did play a key role in the Dubliners’ goal three minutes into the second half, applying the power for Ali Meeke to deflect into the roof of the net.

But Pegasus hung tough and took one of their rare chances when Vanessa Surgeoner stole the ball high up the pitch, following a poor pass from Matthews, getting it to Speers on the right baseline. She picked out the experienced Suzanne Ferris to pop home from close range for the equaliser.

It came in the 62nd minute, the same time that Surgeoner had struck the winner in Saturday’s 2-1 semi-final victory against reigning champions UCD.

Once again, Loreto had their chances to win the game in normal time with a couple of penalty corners in the last minute and also in silver goal extra time.

Pegasus held on, leading to a shoot-out in which the Ulster side had the advantage from the start as Niamh Small rolled wide and Matthews dinged the crossbar. Pegasus had Steph Thompson, Ruth Maguire, Kate McConnell and Robyn Chambers all on target scoring their shoot-outs to eventually win back the title they last won in 2011.

Date Team Venue Comp   Score  Goal Scorers
10/09/14 P.down Home Shield 6-1 Nessa 4, Suz 2
13/09/14 Elks Away Shield 1-6 Nessa 3, Roo, Robyn, Steph
20/09/14 Lurgan Away League 0-1 Nessa
24/09/14 Lurgan Away Shield 0-1 Steph
26/09/14 P.Down Home League 3-0 Steph, Taite, Suz
01/10/14 B.Money Home Shield 1-1 Suz
11/10/14 B.Money Away IHL 0-2 Roo, Alex
25/10/14 R.Town Away League 1-7 Roo 2, Suz 2, Amy, Taite, Ruth
01/11/14 Hermes Home IHL 2-2 Suz, Steph
07/11/14 L.Garvey Home League 3-0 Alex 2, Suz
15/11/14 Pembroke Away ISC 1-2 Taite, Suz
21/11/14 B.Quins Home League 1-1 Alex
23/11/14 R.Town NICS Shield 2-1 Nessa, Suz
29/11/14 Railway U Away IHL 1-3 Alex,Suz, Steph
03/12/14 L.Garvey Away League 0-5 Grace, Kate, Nessa 2, Taite
06/12/14 B.Money Away League 0-1 Suz
13/12/14 R.Town Home League P  
17/12/14 Elks Away League 1-0  
26/12/14 Ards Final Shield


PS 1-2

Suz, Nessa, Taite
10/01/15 P.Down Away League 0-2 Alex, Taite
24/01/15 Cork H Away ISC 2-1 Alex
31/01/15 Elks Home League 0-1  
07/02/15 Lurgan Home IHL 4-0 Hannah 3 Taite
10/02/15 Ards Away League 1-0  
13/02/15 B.Quins Away League Canc  
21/02/15 B.Money Home League 3-0 Suz, Steph 2
28/02/15 UCC Home IHL 6-0 Nessa, Steph 2, Amy, Alex, Ruth
07/03/15 Ards Home League 3-0 Nessa, Suz 2
11/03/15 Lurgan Home League 2-0 Nessa, Hannah
16/03/15 Queens  Home  League 2-1 Leah, Suz
21/03/15 Queens Away League 1-3 Suz, Alex, Steph
25/03/15 B.Quins Away League 1-2 Suz, Ruth
01/04/15 R.Town Home League 4-1 Alex, Ruth, Hannah, Suz
11/04/15 UCD Away IHL Semi 2-1 Suz, Nessa
12/04/15 Loreto Away IHL Final 5-3 Suz, Steph, Ruth, Kate, Robyn

Goal Scorers 2014-15

Name Ulster Shield League ISC  IHL Total 
Suzanne Ferris 5 12 1 4 22
Vanessa Surgeoner 9 5   2 16
Stephanie Thompson 2 4   5 11
Alex Speers   6 1 3 10
Taite Doherty 1 4 1 1 7
Rhiana Campbell 1 1   1 4
Ruth Maguire   3   3 6
Hannah Grieve   2   2 5
Amy Jones   1   1 2
Robyn Chambers 1     1 2
Kate McConnell   1   1 2
Grace Irwin Titler   1     1
Leah Paul   1     1

Pegasus Win McCausland Light & Rankin Super 9's

McCausland, Light & Rankin Cup (Ladies) Super 9's click here

Ulster Hockey’s first “Festival of Hockey” was held on Friday 29th, Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st August 2014 at Lisnagarvey HC, Banbridge HC and Banbridge Academy, showcasing the inaugural McCausland, Light & Rankin Cup (Ladies). The Competition was played in “Super 9’s” format, with the top 8 teams in the Premier League (Season 2013/2014) competing for the McCausland Light & Rankin Cup. 




Pegasus Flyers 0 - 0 Ulster Elks
Pegasus Flyers 0 - 0 Lurgan Hawks
Pegasus Flyers 3 - 0 Harlequins Hornets (goals Steph, Amy, Kerry)

FInal - Pegasus Flyers defeated the Orange Avengers in a penalty shoot out, to lift the inagural McCausland, Light & Rankin Cup Super 9s.